Bad Habits Part II

Okay, hold on a minute.  I just wanted to add to my last post, “Bad Habits”.  I asked where the little one was getting her way of thinking from when she mentioned she wished we had a maid.  I got it.  The little one sees me always cleaning the house and everything has to be in it’s place.  I am pretty OCD about that.  Well, now that I think about it, I remember saying to her that I’m tired of cleaning up after them because they are old enough to clean up after themselves and that I am not their maid!  Okay, so that’s where the little snot gets it.  Once again it’s my fault.  I really have to watch what I say around this one, because she pretty much uses my words against me.  Pretty clever.  Hmmmm.  Time for some reverse psychology.  Do you think that would work or nah?  

Sound off….

8 Comments

  1. Our expectations is that the kids make their bed, put their clothes away, and clean their rooms (not just pick things up off the floor) as part of their responsibilities in our family. I usually have to constantly remind them, but when I threaten to take something away they have earned by doing their part, it’s amazing how clean their rooms can be. Don’t worry, you are not raising a little snot. She’s being perfectly “normal” in pushing boundaries. Stay strong.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We don’t ask much of our children either. Pretty much the same responsibilities you mentioned. I never expect or ask them to clean up after us adults or a mess that isn’t theirs. Yet, it’s like pulling teeth with these kids when it comes to their chores. We’ve tried taking things away but they’re so stubborn, that it doesn’t bother them because they know they’re going to get it back. I hope she doesn’t grow up to be a snooty snot and yes, she certainly is pushing boundaries. Haha. Thank you for your words of encouragement. I appreciate it because often times I do feel as though I am failing as a mother and to hear otherwise is uplifting. Thanks again. 😙

      Like

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I stopped using reverse psychology on my kids years ago. I found that controlling Wi-Fi access and electronics is WAY more effective *evil chuckle*!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha. My kids are too damn stubborn. I’ve tried that as well, but they just wait it out. They’re pretty bull headed like their momma. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just Plain Ol' Vic

        My kids know I can wait it out longer than they can.

        Liked by 1 person

      • With these kids, it is a total showdown. We’d never have wifi here. Haha. Hmmm, that would actually save us some money every month. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just Plain Ol' Vic

        Actually if you have a decent router, you can have two different Wi-Fi signals. One for your kids and another for you. You can shut down the one signal while leaving yours up and running.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah? Hmmm. Going to have to look into that. I shouldn’t have to suffer just because they’re punished. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead

A poetry blog by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

That's What Anxious Mom Said

My Tales of Parenting and Other Crap

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

