Read Across America

So, I get a call from the little one’s teacher.  First, she thanked me for participating in the field trip and how she appreciated it, yada, yada, yada.  Then, she says, “Your daughter mentioned that you would be interested in volunteering to read out loud in front of the whole class this Friday for the Read Across America program.  Will you still be able to make it”?  What the??!!!  EXCUSE ME?!!!!!!!  She said what?  Oh my gosh, I was put on the spot and felt like I couldn’t say no because the little one would be disappointed.  I put on my fake smile, (as if she could see me) then I took a deep breath and as I tried to form my lips to say yes, all I could think of was, “No freakin’ way in hell”!!!  Somehow, the word “Suuuuuure” came out.  I started punching myself in the head like, what the hell are you doing?  What do you mean sure?  The teacher seemed really pleased and thanked me once again and gave me a time to be there.  I hung up the phone, slammed it down on my desk and yelled for the little one.  She comes running into my isolation box and stands in front of me, waiting for me to speak.  She looks at my phone and says, “Oh, did my teacher call you yet”?  You little sucker!!  Apparently, the little one had such a good time on the field trip and I guess she was just really proud for some reason.  Like I mentioned before, I don’t get to do things like this with my little one, so I guess I could see why she did it.  I told her, yes that her teacher did call and she looked at me with eyes wide and a huge smile on her face and said, “So, are you going to do it?”  I could see the excitement on her little face and it just melted me.  It was so weird.  Even though I was scared to accept the invitation, I was pretty calm when I told the little one that I would do it.  She was thrilled.  It made me feel good for a brief moment until reality kicked in and I started to panic.  I kept thinking, what if I start to freak out in front of all those kids?, What if I pass out?, What if I start panting like a dog on a hot summer day?, What if I start stuttering while I’m trying to read?, What if the room starts spinning and I puke all over myself?.  Seriously, these are the kinds of things that go through my mind.  I think my little one noticed the change in my demeanor and said, “Don’t worry mommy, you’ll be fine”.  Whoa!!  This is coming from my little one, I thought.  How did she know?  All I could do was hug her (very tightly).  So, I guess I’m reading out loud to her class mates on Friday.

Dear Anxiety,

If you are reading this, please don’t bother to show up.  You are not invited.

Well, we’ll see what happens as the day fast approaches.  I’ll keep you posted.  Wish me luck.

Cat-in-the-Hat-NEA-Read-Across-America-2014-Arch

4 Comments

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    Do me a favour, if you do projectile vomit on the kids make sure you get video so you can post it on your blog!

    😉

    You will do just fine. A couple minutes into reading, your nervousness will go away!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. Will do. I’ll set up my video cam in the back of the class on a tripod so it can get all the action.
      Thank you for your words of encouragement. It means a lot. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s the only way through the anxiety. You can do it. You WILL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. I sure hope so. I’m getting more and more nervous as it gets closer and closer. I hope I don’t let out some naughty words or make a mad dash for the exit. We’ll see. 😳

      Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

A writer trying to be an author

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Современные пьесы

Современные пьесы — блог Алексея Марковича, где автор выкладывает фото и видео спектаклей, поставленные по его произведениям. Алексей Маркович, 39 лет. Писатель, сценарист, переводчик, режиссёр театра SCI-FI THEATER (Орегон, США). Алексей проводит творческие вечера, на которых читает свои рассказы.

