Sleep Don’t Come Easy

So my doctor suggested I stay awake for two days straight without falling asleep or taking little cat naps. Her logical explanation was simple. If I stay awake for those two days, then I should be so exhausted and ready to fall asleep when the family goes to sleep. Sure, that’s fine and dandy. Makes sense that I would be so tired my body would just collapse. However, my other problem is staying asleep. So, even if I do fall asleep, I don’t stay asleep. I will be wide awake after an hour or two and then the cycle would start all over. I think she really thought that she solved my crisis. I mean, come on, don’t you think I’ve done that?! Like seriously. I’ve mentioned that there are times when I’ll go without sleep for a few days and then I’ll just pass out from exhaustion but before I know it, I’m wide awake. So, while it sounds good, it isn’t. I have been plagued with insomnia for years and years. I guess I’m just used to it, but just because I’m used to it, doesn’t mean I don’t want to sleep. I’m thrilled to sleep, even if it is a cat nap. It’s so weird, but when I take those little naps, it’s like, I feel regenerated or something. I can function without dragging my feet on the floor. I don’t know how, but I do. Now, what I need to figure out is how to stay asleep. I can deprive myself of sleep for days to trick my body into going to sleep. What can I do to get a full nights sleep without taking a handful of prescription or over the counter drugs? Even as sleep deprived as I am, I’m a super duper light sleeper. I hear everything and everything wakes me up. I think it’s also because I’m constantly worrying, so any little noise, there I am going to check it out. I think I’m afraid that the one time I do stay asleep, is when I’m going to be needed but not there because I’m sleeping. I couldn’t live with that guilt. I’d rather never sleep than know that I wasn’t awake when my family needed me. Damned if I do, damned if I don’t. What to do?!?!

10 Comments

  1. I am surprised the doctor would suggest that.
    I do have trouble sleeping, but am very fortunate that I get 4 to 5 hours an night. And yes, catnaps work wonders.
    Wish I could offer some miracle wonder cure. I do hope your sleeps will go for longer stretches.
    Thank you for your honesty and for sharing!
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    • If only there was a miracle wonder cure. *sigh* You’re so kind. Thank you very much. I thought her suggestion was a little out of left field myself but I didn’t want to stay there any longer than necessary. I’m ok with my cat naps for now, because they do help, they really do. Thank you again for your kindness.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you tried taking 5htp?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t really tried anything else since everything else I tried failed. I’m kind of at a stand still right now. Don’t know which way is up or down. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know how you feel. I can usually get a few nights of 6 hrs in one go (which isn’t enough) with whatever I try, then I slip back into sleeping in chunks of 3 hrs again. It’s a nightmare. But I had most success with 5htp. You need to take it with vitamin B for it to be absorbed properly (((hugs)))

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, thank you. I love hugs. 😊
        Yeah, not getting a sufficient amount of sleep is terrible. I’m glad you’ve had success with 5htp and I wish you continued success. Hugs right back.

        Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 I hope you find something that works soon xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope so to. Thank you. 😀

        Like

  3. Hi (: I’ve never actually shared a link to one of my posts before but I feel like I’ve gone thru a lot of the same things you have. Doctors have also tried keeping me awake for days at a time in hopes that I would sleep better but it just resulted in my being even more tired after :/ It’s super frustrating. I did finally find a routine that has helped my insomnia a lot and wrote about it here https://theanxiouslydepressed.wordpress.com/2015/02/06/how-to-beat-insomnia/ it’s pretty strict but i stayed on it for two weeks and i actually sleep now. My doctor said that he has used it with a lot of patients and as long as they are committed to sticking with it its worked with all of them!
    Anyway maybe it will be helpful? It sucks to not sleep ):

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there, thank you so much for the link. I appreciate you taking the time to do so. It does suck to not sleep. I am going to check out your post right now. Thanks again. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead; a poetry blog

by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

A writer trying to be an author

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Современные пьесы

Современные пьесы — блог Алексея Марковича, где автор выкладывает фото и видео спектаклей, поставленные по его произведениям. Алексей Маркович, 39 лет. Писатель, сценарист, переводчик, режиссёр театра SCI-FI THEATER (Орегон, США). Алексей проводит творческие вечера, на которых читает свои рассказы.

