Mixed Emotions

Lately I’ve been struggling more with my depression and insomnia.  For some reason I am feeling super down and sleep has been non existent.  I can’t shake these feelings because I’m not even sure what it is I am feeling.  It’s like sadness meets loneliness who married sleepy and had a baby named anxious.  I took a trip back to see the doc and she wants to change my current meds along with adding cymbalta.  I wasn’t too sure what exactly cymbalta was, so I looked it up and this is what I found:

What is Cymbalta?

Cymbalta (duloxetine) is a selective serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor antidepressant (SSNRI). Duloxetine affects chemicals in the brain that may become unbalanced and cause depression.

Cymbalta is used to treat major depressive disorder in adults. It is also used to treat general anxiety disorder in adults and children who are at least 7 years old.

Cymbalta is also used in adults to treat fibromyalgia (a chronic pain disorder), or chronic muscle or joint pain (such as low back pain and osteoarthritis pain).

Cymbalta is also used to treat pain caused by nerve damage in adults with diabetes (diabetic neuropathy).

I don’t know if I even want to try this new medication until I can learn more about it and its side affects.  So, I turn to you and ask if any of you have had any experience with cymbalta, or maybe you know someone who has and if you can possibly shed some light on the results.  Any information is helpful.  I just don’t want to be dependent on any drug but if I can’t seem to help myself, then, maybe I have no choice.  Thank you in advance.

10 Comments

  1. I commend you for bravely sharing with the blogging community, and appealing if anyone has experience with Cymbalta.

    Personally, I don’t know much about it Just here for support.

    Hoping you find the answers you are looking for.

    Sincerely,
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate it Carl, thank you so much. It is difficult and challenging at the same time. Especially when you have a family to take care of. It’s getting harder to hide behind a smile. I can use all the support. Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    My only suggestion is that you need to see a psychiatrist, so that way you can get a professional assessment of your medical needs. No matter what they suggest you take, don’t forget to see a therapist. It is recognized that the combination of being properly medicated and therapy produces the best and most consistent results.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the suggestion. I am always open to try different things and methods if there is a possibility that it will help. I will definitely look into to it. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I had a terrible experience with cymbalta. Bad migraines including hemiplegic migraines that are like having a stroke. They didnt help my depression, my nerve pain or my fibro pain and the withdrawal from them was dreadful. Google cymbalta withdrawal and you’ll see what i mean.
    I started taking amino acids instead. My migraines are gone (they were daily for months – visual aura/ blinding pain / numbness) and i am so much better. Not totally depression free but I think clearer now, which is massive in itself.
    Please – visit the Moodcure website and do the assessments on there because not all types of depressive symptoms are due to the neurotransmitters that cymbalta treats. Google “the mood cure julia ross”. You are doing the exact right thing by questioning. I really wish i had done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my gosh. Thank you for the feedback and I am so sorry you had to experience that. And that is exactly why I always research and ask before I commit to anything. It’s such a scary thought to know that there are so many things that could go wrong rather than make things better. I will definitely check out the website you mentioned and I am also happy to hear that you found something that actually works for. I wish you continued success. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Haven’t heard anything either way about the Cymbalta. I can’t remember if it was you I was telling about meditation or someone else, but if you haven’t tried it, please try. Every day for two weeks, just 5 or 10 minutes a day…do the kind where you sit quietly, and hum starting with the lower octaves and working up to the highest you can reach… I kid you not, it brings me such overwhelming peace. and while you’re humming, tell yourself, I am not anxious, I am not depressed, I have awesome children, an awesome husband, etc., over and over again, think these things while humming, and don’t just try for a day or two, you really have to try it for a week or two, before you will start to really relax, and feel the peace. but it works, I swear by it. and it’s not drugs, it costs nothing, but the peace settles in, and it will help with both your depression and anxiety… it really will, but you have to stick with it. some people just don’t sink into it for a while, but if you force yourself to do it every day, more than once if you’re really stressing, it WILL help! scientifically speaking, the octaves you hum, reverberate through your bones and brain, and we are all on wavelength’s… our bodies are wired to certain wavelengths, and they DO respond. it’s like it will align and center you, and it also helps to sit in the sunshine while doing it, when you shut your eyes, it’s like retuning an instrument. so please give it a try!!! I hate to hear you are doing so badly, and this really REALLY works!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww, thank you so much. I really appreciate your concern. It’s so humbling to have people who don’t know you at all, be so kind and show compassion for a complete stranger who is going through rough times in life. I have tried meditating on a few occasions but my mind would just not be quiet long enough for me to feel like I accomplished even a teeny bit of peace and so I gave up. I know I should have kept at it, but I let my mind defeat me. I am willing to give it another go. This time around, I’m looking to TKO my opponents. Thank you once again.

    Like

  6. I know nothing about Cymbalta — and since I work in medical products litigation, that’s a good thing.

    But what I do know is this — that different medications work for different people and don’t work for others. What gives one person nasty side effects helps another. Sadly, you don’t know until you try.

    All drugs, ALL DRUGS, have side effects. But not all of them affect all patients. Most are minor. The issue is benefit versus risk.

    Another person to discuss it with, besides your doctor (and I do recommend going to a psychiatrist for help because this is their specialty. That’s what they DO.) But pharmacists are incredibly knowledgeable.

    Look at online forums, too. But remember, people are more likely to post when they want to bitch than when they have something good to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for that information and I agree with you that medicine affects people in different ways. I just like to get as much info as I can before I make a decision. I have been reading as much as possible and a the information has been really helpful. I appreciate all of you who have commented as well. Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead

A poetry blog by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

That's What Anxious Mom Said

My Tales of Parenting and Other Crap

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

