Big Words Don’t Make You Smart

I remember when I was about ten years old, I had walked down to my aunt’s house to see if my bio-sis wanted to hang out. We never really spent a lot of time with each other because she would rather do nothing than hang out with me. Still, it didn’t stop me from trying. As usual, she was just sitting in her room blabbing on the phone and barely even acknowledged my presence. I was just sitting at the very edge of her bed while she just talked and laughed away. I was bored just listening to her yap, so I kinda started looking around her room without getting up or touching anything. I seen a board game on her dresser and asked if we could play, she just shook her head no and pretty much dismissed me. Her closet door was open, so I was just looking at all her clothes and shoes and couldn’t believe how packed it was with all her stuff. I thought, “Man, she’s lucky to have so much stuff”. But to her, it was no big deal. I stood up and kind of seen something that caught my eye and I reached in to grab it, as I was just about to pull it out, she yelled at me to stop touching her stuff. I immediately dropped it because she scared the crap out of me, then she drops the phone and tells me I broke it. How do you know it’s broken, you didn’t even check it, I thought. She tells me to just leave things alone and gets back on the phone. I hear her tell her friend how I was being nosy and going through her stuff and now I broke her tree house toy that she had since she was a baby. She had a way of making me feel bad and invisible at the same time. I decided to take a walk into the hall way, I don’t know why I didn’t just go back home, but for some reason, I sat in a corner with my knees up, arms crossed resting on top, with my head down. I swear, I was there for like a good half hour. Finally, she gets off the phone and comes out into the hall and says, “Oh, you scared me. I thought you left”. I’m sure at that point she wished I had because I heard all the mean things she said about me. She says, “What are you doing sitting in the corner”? I’m trying to think of something smart to say, anything to communicate with her at her level. Think. Do you know any big words that you can impress her with? Come on brain, think. What’s the word I’m looking for. Oh! I got it. I looked up with confidence and said, “I was just “Menstruating” while I waited for you”. She gave me the ugliest look and said, “Eww, you’re disgusting”. I am?! Why?! What did I do?! I looked back confused as hell. I couldn’t understand why concentrating was so disgusting. I got up and told her I had to go, see you later. When I got home, I was still puzzled. I had to ask grandma what that word meant. I was sure I knew but the way my bio-sis acted, it had me second guessing. Of course grandma wanted to know why I was asking, and where did I hear that word and who said it blah, blah. After the interrogation, she finally told me. I was like, “Ewwww, that’s disgusting. I said, “Well? Then? What is that word when you sit alone in a quiet place to concentrate? She chuckled and said, “Meditation”. Oh! Mind you, I am ten okay. I knew what I meant, I just got the word wrong. No more big words for me. Lesson learned.

2 Comments

  1. The most embarrassing moments in life DO make the best stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha. Ain’t that the truth?! 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead; a poetry blog

by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

A writer trying to be an author

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Современные пьесы

Современные пьесы — блог Алексея Марковича, где автор выкладывает фото и видео спектаклей, поставленные по его произведениям. Алексей Маркович, 39 лет. Писатель, сценарист, переводчик, режиссёр театра SCI-FI THEATER (Орегон, США). Алексей проводит творческие вечера, на которых читает свои рассказы.

