Teacher’s Pet

Once a month at the fast food joint where I worked, a group of special needs kids would come in and do little odd jobs here and there. It got them involved and helped them learn responsibility while gaining experience. On one occasion, the group showed up bright and early as they normally would, because that’s the time we would prep before we opened. I greeted them and chatted with them for a few minutes and then started to assign different tasks to each student. I had a kid sweep the storage room, one kid was breaking down boxes with one of my employees. Another kid was going over the dining room tables to make sure they were wiped down properly from the night before. Just little jobs here and there. I had one kid in the back with me along with the teacher’s aid. I was preparing soap water so he could wash a few dishes. Nothing major, just a few utensils and a couple of plastic containers. As the sink is filling, I turned to see if he was watching and I noticed a blank stare. I will never forget that look in his eyes. Before I knew it, he just fell forward, face first into the stainless steel sink. Blood started to gush from his lip and nose, then he hit the floor and started to have a seizure. I had never seen anything like that in real life, especially right in front of me. The teachers’ gathered around him, I was jumping over people to get to the phone and called 911. I returned and informed them that I called 911 and help was on the way. You’ll never believe what the head teacher said. She looked up at me and said, “Oh, you didn’t have to do that. He does this all the time”. Are you freaking kidding me?!?! How the hell am I supposed to know that!! It might have been a normal thing for them, but for me?, no way. There was nothing normal about that for me. Even though I was terrified out of my mind, I thought I handled it pretty well. I remained calm and didn’t cause any unnecessary panic. After a few minutes, they sat the boy up and he was responding to the teachers, he was still bleeding a little so I grabbed a towel for his bloody lip/nose. The ambulance arrived and I let them in. They started to attend the boy and the head teacher refused a trip to the hospital, so they checked him out right there and then they left. I didn’t know what their policy was or their procedures for handling such incidents, but I didn’t feel comfortable about how it was handled. Josh had grabbed a chair so the boy could sit down as the teachers gathered the other students to leave. I couldn’t help but be concerned, I asked him if he was ok, if he wanted some water, if there was anything I could do and before he could answer, the head teacher intervened and told me he was fine and that they’d take care of him once they got back to the school. If I was that child’s parent, I would have been furious at that kind of nonchalant treatment. I couldn’t believe it! So what if it happens often, you don’t act like it’s nothing, especially in front of people who obviously think it’s something to be concerned about. I have to admit though, to this day, I still wonder if I had overreacted. Was I too concerned? Did I jump the gun when I called 911? Were my feelings or instincts way off? I don’t know. All I know for sure is that I will never forget that day. What do you think? How would you have reacted?

8 Comments

  1. I would have freaked out. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as I wanted to, I knew that I couldnt. I had to remain calm even though inside, I felt like I was running around like a chicken without a head. Sorry for the graphic reference.

      Like

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I think it would be dependent on the situation.

    My daughter has severe foods allergies to all dairy and egg products, so we have to carry an Epi-Pen with us all the time.

    People tend to freak out when she gets hives and/or starts to swell up, but usually keeping calm and liquid Benadryl does wonders.

    So as a parent I would definitely want to question my teachers reactions but it is possible they were appropriate. You don’t know for sure until you are really involved in that child’s life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I get what you’re saying. It makes total sense. I guess, in the moment, your first reaction is to freak out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I would’ve called 911! Even if it might have possibly been an overreaction for that one person, You don’t know their specific problems and conditions, and if it had been someone else they could have potentially died.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very true. Makes me feel better about the way I handled it. But what if the teachers weren’t there. I wonder how I would have reacted if it were a customer. I know I’d still call 911, that’s for sure.

    Like

  5. What you did was perfect! You have no idea what kind of head trauma people can have on the way down to the ground in a seizure! And, you were a representative of the establishment you worked for. Ethically you took the high road and thought fast on your feet! Yep, I’m a nurse, hence the exclamation points in this comment. In addition to that, I have an autistic niece, relatively nonverbal. My family and I count on conscientious people like you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Why, thank you. I appreciate that very much. It was a scary situation to witness so up close. I just reacted. I mean, it happened so fast. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn’t hesitate to do it the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead

A poetry blog by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

That's What Anxious Mom Said

My Tales of Parenting and Other Crap

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

