Customer From Hell

IMG_1195-0.JPG

I mentioned in a previous post, “Climbing the corporate ladder”, that I would tell you some fast food stories. Well, her goes one and I’ll put them in a new folder called “Food Stories”.
Ok, so, if you’ve ever worked in fast food or any retail store really, have you ever experienced the customer from hell? I mean seriously. This is a person(s) that is just hard to please no matter what you do, no matter how polite you are, they are just straight up (think of a really bad word) jerks!! I was in the back cooking and a customer was complaining about their order to one of the employees and he was trying to make it right by apologizing and offered to have it remade. The lady started yelling about how she was going to have to wait again for her order and it was a waste of her time and he should have got it right the first time and blah, blah, blah. She demanded to speak with the manager, (enter me). I asked her what the problem was and she said her order was all wrong and no, she didn’t want to have to wait for a new order and yada, yada, yada. I apologized and said I completely understand but if you give me a chance I will make your order exactly the way you want it and I offered her a free beverage or dessert while she waited. She huffed and puffed for a minute then finally agreed to it. I told Josh to give her whatever dessert she wanted and he did. Oh my gosh, a few seconds later she is yelling again, something about the dessert wasn’t right yada, yada. This poor kid couldn’t seem to do anything right according to her. I take her order to her, I let her look through it to make sure it’s right, I apologize again and even for the dessert and offered to make another one myself. After all that, as she is walking out, she never said thank you for one, and then she’s screaming about how she’ll never come back and the service was terrible and how Josh should be trained better. Customers in the dining area were just looking and kind of chuckling. Finally she was gone. Josh was worried that he was going to be fired but I assured him he wasn’t because everything she complained about was everything she ordered. Josh took the order right and I made the order that was on that ticket. There was nothing wrong with it, but I remade it anyway to please her. After all, the customer is always right. At least, that’s what we were taught. I think she just wanted free food. Well, the next day as I was getting ready to start my shift, my boss calls me in and says that a customer called with a complaint. I already knew it was that lady. My boss said that the lady was fuming mad and said Josh screwed up her order and refused to fix it then when she asked for the manager, she said that I took my time to address her problem and that I was not very professional (it’s a fast food joint, besides, I went above and beyond) and she said I shouldn’t be a manager if I can’t fix a small discrepancy. I was shocked, flabbergasted and surprised to say the least. Good thing my boss knew me better than that and the other employees backed me up. I just couldn’t believe it. The boss said she took the lady’s name down and she would receive a free meal of her choice the next time she came in. I hoped that she wouldn’t come in on my shift because I probably would have made her order wrong just to piss her off. Tell me about your customer from hell or have you ever been that customer from hell?

IMG_1196.JPG

8 Comments

  1. Hungry people are all assholes. Some more so than opt hers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. So true. I know I can be somewhat of an A**hole when my order is wrong, but never to that extreme. I always try to remain respectful because I knew what it was like and I also knew what they could possibly do to my new order. Eww, it’s gross just thinking about it. Still, it’s like she wanted us fired or something. I can’t even tell you how many rude people I encountered working in customer service. It’s crazy!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I work in customer service, and I’m always shocked at how angry and rude some people can be. I have personally never received a comment about my work performance, but I do have to answer for my employees. It’s never a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed. This lady took it to a whole other level. It’s kind of sad what some people will put you through to get something for nothing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just had one customer like that. He said we damaged a piece of equipment in his home and wanted to be compensated for it. I told him to give me the damaged equipment and I’d replace it with a new one. He couldn’t provide the damaged equipment. Interesting, isn’t it? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s what I’m talking about. Some people think they are way smarter than they really are. Always trying to get out of paying. They want everything for free.

        Like

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I have always hated the “customer is always right” blind mentality. Let’s be quite honest, frequently they are wrong.

    That being said, customer service is about finding creative solutions to problems and doing it in a manner to retain and build loyalty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely, and I even think they actually take that term to literal and therefore they abuse it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead; a poetry blog

by Chris Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Сельский туризм в России

"Сельский туризм в России" — авторский проект Алексея Марковича.

