Duck, Duck, Geese

I remember when my uncle had these geese for pets. These suckers were mean as hell. Every time I would go over they would rush me and start snapping at me. I hated these geese! They would chase us around the yard honking out loud and my uncle would be watching from the window. We could hear him laughing so hard. I would wonder why he didn’t come out to save us. Then I realized it was more entertaining to watch us kids get chased by these stupid geese. Looking back, I know I would have done the same. Haha. After he felt he had enough laughter and we had enough torture, then he would come out and scare the geese away. I wasn’t scared of the stupid geese, but when your uncle tells you to just stand still and they’ll leave you alone, you do it. Well, that was a lie. I stood there stiff as a board and these jerks would bite at my ankles. The first few bites, no big deal. Then, holy crap, they were out for blood. That’s when we would run and so the chase began. One time, my cousin came with me and I kind of used him as bait so I could make it in the house unscathed. It was mean, but it worked. He was running around the yard yelling for help and I was inside telling him to stand still. He did and they started biting at his ankles. I couldn’t help but laugh. I knew at that moment how silly we looked to my uncle and why he would laugh so hard. I told my cousin to slowly walk to the door and as he was getting closer, one of the geese bit his tush and would not let go. He was screaming and we were laughing hysterically. Poor cousin, eventually uncle went out to save him. I don’t know why those damn geese were so mean. I think they thought they were watch dogs or something. They very well could have been. They were scary suckers, they even scared the dogs that my uncle did have in the yard. They were even more scary when they would chase you around with their wings flapping everywhere. They were crazy. I sure don’t miss them. Well, I kind of do.

6 Comments

  1. In the very rural county I live in, geese are well known as being guard geese. I have a friend who keeps them instead of a dog for that purpose. She doesn’t have to walk tbe geese lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my. I believe it. My uncle had those geese for a long time and they were more protective than the dogs. Haha. My uncle would have us kids on a wild goose hunt to find golden eggs. Yeah, we fell for it. He had us believe that his geese laid golden eggs and who ever found one first would get a dollar. He was cheap. Haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Swans can get nasty too – I remember as a child feeding some swans bread and when the the bread was gone they came out of the water and chased me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! I don’t even like feeding the ducks at the park. They literally came after us for our bread. We threw it at them and ran. They look cute and innocent but they’re pretty scary at the same time. Haha. Hope you weren’t too traumatized by your experience with swans. As for me, I just don’t trust any of them. No matter how cute they look.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Geese are horrid beasts. A lot of folks don’t realize how brutal they really are, though on the whole, I fear them far less than I feared my grandfather’s dairy wolves!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They sure are. They might be okay looking from a distance but they sure are mean little suckers. Haha. I’ve never heard of dairy wolves. Hmmm. Have to check online now. (Curious)

    Like

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead; a poetry blog

by Chris Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Сельский туризм в России

"Сельский туризм в России" — авторский проект Алексея Марковича.

