Blood Isn’t Thicker Than Water

Does blood really make you family or does it merely make you related? My so called “family” is so screwed up these days that half of them don’t speak to the other half of us. This holiday season has the potential to not be so thankful, Merry or happy, but I won’t let it. We will make the best of it with the few of us that are still speaking to each other. There is no point in allowing that kind of negative energy affect our holidays. Our “family” was just downsized by half and that’s fine with me. Less people to worry about. So, good luck and happy holidays to the other half. You know who you are. It is what it is!!!

8 Comments

  1. Was it always that way? Btw, to answer you question, it makes you family. My thing is that bad situations don’t last forever. If that was the case, there wouldn’t be no Tues, Wed., Thu, Fri, Sat, or Sun. There would be only just…… :/ monday

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear what you’re saying. It wasn’t always this bad and we weren’t really the closest of family but we would all get together for celebrations and holidays. Looks like we are going to end this year with them and start a new year without them. Thank you for commenting. Any feed back I get will help put things in perspective. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. my own thinking is Blood simply makes you related and a likely match for anyone needing an organ or blood, Family on the other hand, is what and who you make it to be, it can be made up of various blood relatives and close friends and partner(s) alike , sometimes non related family is better and healthier than blood related family, but that’s just how I see it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anonymous

      I think I agree with you on this one. I have had closer relationships with non blood related individuals than I ever had with those who have the same blood running through their vains. You make a great point as far as family is who and why we make of it. Gives me more to think about. Thank you so much for taking the time. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “Blood is thicker than water?
    A stickiness that cloys, whereas water cleanses”

    From a poem I wrote many moons ago. But it sums up my experience nicely.

    The thing is – just because you share the same relatives/blood does NOT mean you are going to like each other.
    And why accept behaviour from “famiky” that you wouldn’t accept from others?
    Xxx

    Like

    • That’s true. However, as kids we were taught to love each other no matter what because we are “family”. We didn’t have a choice, now that we’re older, we do have a choice, and you’re right, we don’t have to accept certain behaviors just because we share the same blood.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I am 100% of the mindset that blood does not make you “family.” Family is about an emotional bond, shared experiences and mutual support.

    I can say this because I am adopted and I have NEVER been curious about my biological father. I also have a step-son, who has been a part of my life since he was 1 and he calls me Dad and his biological father by his first name.

    So blood my count for something but it is certainty not everything!

    Like

    • You got that right. I’m with you. I ended bonding with my step dad and consider him to be my dad, whereas I could care less about the biological one. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead

A poetry blog by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

That's What Anxious Mom Said

My Tales of Parenting and Other Crap

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

