Sleepy But Not Sleeping

Yes, another sleepless night. (Sigh). When will it stop? I am so exhausted, every part of me just wants to shut down but my mind absolutely refuses. My eyelids feel so heavy yet they will not close. My thoughts are even louder tonight and I’m not sure why. My head is pounding from this terrible migraine. My tummy is in knots because my anxiety is through the roof. It’s so weird because my depression triggers my insomnia which triggers my anxiety which triggers my depression, and it goes on and on.

17 Comments

  1. I understand completely. And it is so much harder to cope with anything when you are exhausted.
    Have you tried any natural products? I am having some success finally – 3 nights of 6-7 hrs.

    Like

    • What I would do for just four hours of sleep. There are several different things I’ve tried. From natural remedies to sleeping aids to old wives tales to grandmas home made concoctions. Nothing has really worked to keep me asleep. A few of them knock me out, but one to two hours later, I’m wide awake. I’m glad to hear you’re getting six to seven hours. That’s wonderful. What is it that has worked for you if you don’t mind me asking? Thank you.

      Like

      • Of course I don’t mind you asking!
        I take GABA (made by Now) at about 6pm and then 200 mg of 5htp a couple of hours before i want to sleep. If i am still not feeling sleepy after a couple of hours I take another 200 mg of 5htp.
        Some people find that it helps straight away but it took about 3 weeks to work for me. But i think that’s partly because of my depression. 5htp is the precursor to seratonin, which melatonin (the slerp hormone) is made from. But with depression you lack seratonin. So i think it had to build up a bit before there was enough to make melatonin.
        The 5htp might help you generally as well. But if you already take an anti depressant – check with a dr first. It isnt good to overload on seratonin.

        Like

      • Got it. Thank you for the information. I will definitely consult with my Dr. Hopefully it will be something I can at least try. Thanks again. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are very welcome 🙂

        Like

      • 😊

        Like

  2. Oh, an endless cycle! I was thinking of you yesterday…could not sleep at all Sunday night to Monday morning. Something upsetting happened to me late that night and I stayed up thinking about it, could not shut my mind off! Better today though, thankfully! Hope yours improves as well.

    Like

    • I’m sorry you went through that. I hope thinking of me wasn’t the cause of your mind going into over drive, therefore preventing you from sleeping. Also, what ever happened to upset you, I hope has been resolved. Don’t carry that unnecessary weight. Hopefully thing will improve on this end. Thank you so much. I appreciate you.

      Like

  3. Do you try meditating?

    Like

    • I have tried on a few occasions, but my mind does not allow me to focus. I try to control my thoughts and tell them to be quiet, but they just get louder and I eventually give up. I’m open for any suggestions though and I do appreciate yours. Thank you so very much.

      Like

  4. Oh, so sad to hear your state. All i can say is do what makes you feel good. Sending prayers of peace your way. Stay peaceful! 🙂

    Like

  5. Been happening to me lately too. I’ll lay down, feeling tired, ready to go to sleep, but my mind won’t shut down for about an hour or so. Then I still toss and turn a few times in my sleep.

    Like

    • Isn’t it terrible? I can’t stand it!! I hope it’s only a temporary thing for you because I’ve been dealing with this for years and it’s not something I would wish upon my worst enemy. I’m wishing you well and sending good vibes your way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. Good luck to you as well. As for me, it comes and goes. Guess it depends on what I experienced during the day and all – any stress I might be feeling and stuff that my mind doesn’t want to let go of right away, etc.

        Like

      • The things I experience throughout the day, only adds to my already stressed out mind. That’s why I find it difficult to get any sleep. I understand what you’re saying though. Thanks for the good luck wishes. I need as many as I can get.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead

A poetry blog by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

That's What Anxious Mom Said

My Tales of Parenting and Other Crap

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

"I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member."

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

