Insomnia’s Letter

If I were to write a letter to insomnia, it would go something like this;
Dear Insomnia, we have shared many years together. Staying up late well into the early mornings. We’ve spent countless nights laughing and crying for no apparent reason. We can easily log hundreds if not thousands of hours staring at the tv. You watch me toss and turn while I try to get some rest, but instead of you trying to soothe me to sleep, you’d rather drag me out of bed. We pace the hallway back and forth, we sit, we stand, we lay, we write and read all while everyone else is asleep. You fill my head with empty thoughts, you trick my mind into thinking I’m not tired. You keep me up when I desperately want to sleep. I thought we did these things together, but now I know you did them to me. It made me realize how selfish you’ve been. Therefore, I think it’s best we go our separate ways. I’ll never forget you or all you have done. Yes, I was faithful to you all these years. But looking back, I should have left you long ago. You haven’t been kind or considerate of my feelings at all. You’re nothing but a liar and a thief. I know I’ll never get back the sleep you have stolen from me or the beautiful dreams that will never be. Excuse me? What’s that you say? You did it all for me? Really? Oh I’m, I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean what I said, please, just come back to bed.

13 Comments

  1. Sorry you are suffering.

    Like

    • Thank you. That’s so kind of you to say. Unfortunately that is my reality.

      Like

      • I have suffered from insomnia on occasion, as I suppose everyone has. I don’t think it is anything like what you are going through. I find that melatonin is helpful. I’m guessing you’ve probably tried it.

        Like

      • Yes, I have tried tons of things. I’m sure, not everything, but a lot. Nothing has helped so far. The sleeping meds will do it’s job and knock me out, but thirty minutes to an hour later, I am wide wake and feeling worse because the medication is still floating around inside. 😞

        Like

      • Yes, sleeping pills kind of suck. Melatonin, is more of a supplement and it never makes me feel groggy unless I really overdo it! (But I’m sure you know all of that!) Wish I could be of more help.

        Like

      • Just knowing that you are reading my blogs and commenting or replying to me is more help than you’ll ever know. So, thank you for that.

        Like

      • Well, you’re quite welcome.

        Like

  2. Keep the faith that you will find the perfect solution for your sleep needs! You deserve to sleep well and be at peace. I hope and believe you are closer than you may think ❤

    Like

    • Thank you for always saying positive things. I am really grateful. Your words are encouraging and they do bring hope. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are always welcome. And you are the kindest sleep-deprived person I’ve ever known. Seriously, I’m a downright bear without sleep 😦 Not sure if you saw my recent post about sleep http://familyanswersfast.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/how-to-gain-energy-through-sleep-thats-right-sleep-fitness-blog/ Likely you have read much about sleep and I would never pretend that I know what it is like to be in shoes, but my main point is one of hope. Getting sleep is a challenge and we all need good information, support, and encouragement to do what is hard. Wishing you every happiness!

        Like

      • Thank you for the link. Yes, all I do is read and research and try to find answers to why I’m so messed up. Even as much information as I have read, I know there is still a ton more that I have yet to discover. So, I so appreciate any information or suggestions sent my way. Thank you for the warm wishes and I also wish you the same. You have been very kind to me since day one and you’ve been very positive. It is true, I can be quite the grouch without sleep, but I’m only grouchy with myself. I try not to take it out on anybody else, because it’s not their fault. I know it’s not mine either, but I’d rather take it on me than someone else. Thank you again.

        Like

  3. skd

    Oh dear, Unable to catch sleep when the whole world around you is slumbering away can get really frustrating. Have you tried to have a hearty meal an hour before you sleep or a hot mug of chocolate. Just try it. It may work.

    Like

    • Yes it is definitely frustrating and I have tried so many different things that haven’t worked in my favor but I do appreciate the suggestions. I’ll try almost anything. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Small World, Smaller Girl

the lemonade of our lives

HappyHETU

Spreading Happiness through writing :)

2012: What's the 'real' truth?

To find out, I hold a finger in the breeze.

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

Thomas

Photo, writing.. and other things exploring my mind

Of life she writes.

A girl's journey to finding herself.

Highest Form of Whit

Bigger. Bolder. Bloggier.*

Poethead; a poetry site

by Christine Murray

waltbox

humor | musings | fiction

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

De Novo

A firsthand account of my journey learning about, and coming to accept my experiences, mental health, life and self.

the anxiously depressed

Learning to live my life with anxiety, depression, and self-harm (and other things).

Admirably Legal

Laying Down the Law...In Fashion and Style!

byclarkellis

A writer trying to be an author

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Nice Curtains & Home Products

Giving You Great Ideas For A More Comfortable Home

crystal yip yy

welcome to my blog

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

A More BeYOUtiful You

Tips, information, and careful reviews for a more BEYOUTIFUL YOU ♥

Sparkonit

Science - Simplified

The Greedy Foodie

A Hardcore Foodie's World

Serenity's Ashrama

"Our inner hankering is for satisfaction, happiness, sweetness, love, beauty and mercy." Swami B.R.Sridhar maharaja.

hauntedbythebeauty

a blog from a loving gamer mom

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

Tickled TK

Everyone Smiles When Tickled

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Современные пьесы

Современные пьесы — блог Алексея Марковича, где автор выкладывает фото и видео спектаклей, поставленные по его произведениям. Алексей Маркович, 39 лет. Писатель, сценарист, переводчик, режиссёр театра SCI-FI THEATER (Орегон, США). Алексей проводит творческие вечера, на которых читает свои рассказы.

